The city walls

Trutnov’s first city walls were probably built at the turn of the 13th and 14th centuries. They were wooden - gradually replaced by stone walls. They protected its inhabitants from military invasions and various roving gangs. The city fortifications consisted of only one fortification wall with a thickness of about 1.5 m reinforced by massive towers on the south, east and west sides.

Trutnov, The city walls

Trutnov's gates

In addition to the walls, the town was protected on the northern side by a massive rock cliff and the Millrace (Mlýnský náhon). Three gates allowed access to the city. The Upper gate (in today's Pražská Street), the Middle gate (in today's Horská Street) and the Lower gate (in today's Slezská Street).

The walls

The walls served their purpose until the first half of the 19th century. Then they were gradually dismantled as a suitable and cheap building material. Unfortunately, after the great fire of the city in 1861, all the gates were demolished.
To this day, the visible remains of the walls can be found in the vicinity of the town hall building, in “Na Vrchu“street and especially in “Na Struze” street. The remnant of the fortifications is “Hluboký Příkop “Street, where a massive moat can be seen.

50.5619686N, 15.9165122E

Also worth visiting

Historic centre
The historical town centre has been proclaimed a National Heritage Site since 1990. Its historical oval shape is still...
Natural attractions
The city park, founded in 1890 on the slopes of the Janský and Šibeník Hills, is a magical place for a short walk or a...
Art and culture
The Dragon Gallery is a unique gallery dedicated to the creature which appeared in the legend describing the founding of...